7 Things About Hostels I Wish Didn’t Happen

It’s 5-something am and I’m lying on a dorm bed in some hostel in Sibiu, Romania. Wide awake, I might add. Which leads me to this post. I wasn’t going to write anything till I got back, but since I have some unexpected free time, I said why not?
Well since I’m lying wide awake at 5-something am at a hostel (and not too happy about it), it’s obvious that’s exactly what I’m going to talk about.
(1) Hostels with a lockout/curfew
I haven’t stayed in one with a curfew yet, but I did face a lockout. I had been walking around all day in Metz, back in April 2013 and when I finally did get to the hostel, I found it was closed in the afternoon for 4-5 hours. Annoying!
(2) Hostels that are too full or too empty
If it’s too full, there’s invariably someone snoring in the dorm, people traipsing in and out, a couple, umm, sharing a bed, constant opening and shutting of the door, their lockers etc etc.
On the other hand if it’s too empty (though occasionally welcome), there is nothing to do, no one to talk to, which can get a little lonely if you’ve been on the road solo for a while.
(3) Hostels that don’t give free tea or coffee
Most hostels I’ve stayed in do. Most. But the ones that don’t… Come on! It’s just some tea bags or leaves and some coffee powder, or hot chocolate :/ Bonus points to hostels that let you use milk too! I stayed in a few of those as well. Awesome!!
(4) Hostels that don’t have any recommendations
I’m big on local food. And usually hostels give the best recommendations about where to eat. Cheap and traditional. But some hostels just shrug and say I don’t know and that makes me unhappy ๐Ÿ˜ฆ because left to myself, I usually end up heading straight for something overpriced. Or a fast food place (like last night… Atleast the fast food was Romanian). I’m clearly very good at this stuff.
I just don’t mean food recommendations of course, I also mean things like how to go to the next destination, things to do during the day… I need something more exhaustive than oh just walk around you know?
(5) Hostels that have creaky, wobbly beds
Some beds creak like there’s no tomorrow if you dare to even take a full deep breath. If you have dorm mates, you have to literally lie still to not wake everyone up!!
And wobbly!! If the bed feel like it’s going to topple over while your climbing up to the top bunk… Not such a good sign.
(6) Charging points!!!
Aaah I need my phone beside me when I’m sleeping in a hostel. Anyone can take my phone and run if I’m charging it across the room in a 16 bedded dorm. Better safe than sorry! The most sensible dorms are the ones that have a charge point for each bunk.
(7) Hostels that are too warm or too cold
I have a feeling that that’s why I’m awake right now. It’s -1 Celsius outside, and they’re overcompensating inside.
So these are my biggest pet peeves after spending countless nights in 20ish hostels in almost as many cities. What do you think? Did I miss something? Or am I just being crabby?
I’m going to try to go back to sleep now ๐Ÿ™‚ I got a few hours before I need to check out.

If this post is not so coherent as usual, chalk it up to lack of sleep ๐Ÿ˜€

6 responses to “7 Things About Hostels I Wish Didn’t Happen

  1. Just to add something I personally dislike are hostels with bathroom en suite…come on! hostel is not a hotel and if you have a shared wc people will be faster while in the dorm if a young lady decide to use it…well, it means at least 20-30 minutes she won’t get out. Plus, what if a guy after a tough night eating kebab and drinking dark beer, decides to…well…you know what…even if he is very fast with the business, I challange you to enter the bathroom!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I was just re-living some crazy ordeals I have faced in the hostels that I have been in! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰ cant stop smirking! ๐Ÿ˜›
    Well, I personally think that they should have closer charger points if not more in number, but I haven’t found any such yet!
    and yea, I am still searching for a hostel like the one in Hostel the movie! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. I stayed in boy’s (only) hostel in my college time, I hated most was the bathroom’s either you get totally cold water or so hot that u cannot even wash ***. And also about food menu, which used to be so *****. But other things i enjoyed like Charging points, etc..

Talk to me! :)

